We Need To Talk About Kevin (12/10, 11:59pm)

With her first two films a decade ago (Ratcatcher and Morvern Callar, two masterpieces of poetic realism and arresting cinematic beauty), Lynne Ramsay established herself as one of the most promising and pure directorial talents in the world, but it seemed for many years we would be left in constant anticipation of seeing that promise fulfilled.  Now, cineastes can finally rejoice over Ramsay’s return to the screen, and in the tradition of Von Trier’s Antichrist or Nic Refn’s Drive, we also get the bonus pleasure of seeing a favorite arthouse director bending a “genre” subject — in this case the “bad seed” evil-child thriller. Welcome to the darkest, deepest and perhaps most honest exploration of maternal relations since Medea; Tilda Swinton gives a bracing tour-de-force performance as a woman embroiled in a tragic fifteen-year battle with her son — a sociopathic boy whose ominous, ever-increasing malevolence can only be comprehended by the mom who knows him best.  Ramsey’s cinematic skill brings it both the well-oiled, well-coiled formal satisfactions of the best psychological thrillers, and the rich emotional experience of a work of art.  Co-starring John C. Reilly, and Ezra Miller in an unforgettable breakout role as Tilda Swinton’s nightmarish offspring!
Dir. Lynne Ramsay, 2011, 35mm, 112 min.

Watch an excerpt from “We Need To Talk About Kevin”!
YouTube Preview Image